On November 2, 2018, the Clay County High School Science Bowl Team travelled to West Virginia State University to compete in the Dr. James E. Brimhall Science Bowl. The competition is named in honor of late professor Jim Brimhall.

Brimhall was an experimental nuclear physicist at Hamline University in Minnesota and at the University of Pittsburgh. He began teaching at West Virginia State University in 1966 and later became an administrator, serving 11 years as Vice President of Administration, before returning to teach physics full-time. The competition focuses on topics from biology, chemistry, earth science, physics, physical science, astronomy, anatomy and physiology, botany, zoology, microbiology, ecology, and upper level mathematics.

Team Captains were Mike Willis and Courtney Bevins. Team members were Caleb Wynn, Jefferson Hymer, Corey Elswick, Jacie Coleman, Neil Wilkinson, Aiden Taylor, Caitlin Belt, and Hunter Jones. Team sponsors were Patricia Coulter and Melody Hubbard. The Clay County High School teams competed through seven rounds. It was the most successful year to date! A special thanks to our school for all the support and the opportunity to attend. We are proud of these students and hope to return next year for the 2019 competition.