Big Otter Elementary students

The James G. Dawson Hall of Fame was founded in 1987 by Clay County Superintendent of Schools, James G. Dawson with the cooperation of the board of education. At that time it was called the Clay County Hall of Fame.

The ceremony highlighted the most important characteristic of the Clay County School System – academic achievement of students.

Dawson served as school superintendent for 22 years. Under his direction, Clay County Schools prospered, earning a well-deserved reputation as the “Premier Rural School System” in West Virginia. After his retirement, the Clay County Hall of Fame was then renamed as the James G. Dawson Hall of Fame in his honor. After retiring from Clay County Schools, Dawson served as director of RESA III, member of the Clay County Board of Education, and a West Virginia State Senator.

In August of 2003, Dawson was given the esteemed CLASS Award by the Clay County School system In recognition of his years of outstanding service.

This year, around 500 students were selected for their outstanding performances in academics and athletics, as well as their superior scores on national testing, just to name a few.

Thank you to the board of education members, Dawson, and Superintendent Joe Paxton for presenting the students with their awards. Also, thank you to the teachers, administrators and parents for all of your hard work and dedication to the excellence of our Clay County students!