Landau Eugene Murphy, Jr., and up and coming “Chasing Nashville” star – and Calhoun County native – Autumn Blair will be among the performers at the WV Music Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony & Performance.
The show – which will be broadcast live on WV PBS – will also include performances by 2013 inductees Melvin Goins, Tim O’Brien, Peter Marshall and Wayne Moss; and Mollie O’Brien, Curtis & Friendly Womack (of the Valentinos), opera singer Betsy Bare, and Shayla Leftridge.
“We’re excited to have Landau and Autumn performing,” said WVMHoF director Michael Lipton. “In addition to honoring WV musicians who have long-standing careers, the WV Music Hall of Fame’s mission is to recognize and encourage up-and-coming musicians. After all, not only do they represent the future of WV music – they may be future Hall of Famers.”
The West Virginia Music Hall of Fame’s 2013 induction ceremony will be held Saturday, November 16, 2013, at the Culture Center Theater in Charleston. VIP tickets include a meet ‘n’ greet with inductees and presenters, admittance to the Governor’s Reception and after show party.
The ceremony welcomes the fifth class of inductees and will be broadcast live across the state on WV PBS. A video by comedian – and McDowell County native – Steve Harvey will welcome everyone to the show.
The 2013 inductees are: Melvin & Ray Goins, Peter Marshall, Wayne Moss, Tim O’Brien, Ada “Bricktop” Smith, Eleanor Steber, and The Swan Silvertones.
The 2013 Spirit Award will be presented to Landau Eugene Murphy, Jr.
The living inductees – Melvin Goins, Tim O’Brien, Peter Marshall and Wayne Moss – will be present to accept their awards and perform. In addition, there will be performances by Landau Eugene Muprhy, Jr., Mollie O’Brien, Curtis and Friendly Womack (of the Valentinos), opera singer Betsy Bare, and Shayla Leftridge.
Presenters and acceptors include Kathy Mattea (Tim O’Brien), Charlie McCoy (Wayne Moss), Butch Miles and Art Simmons (Bricktop), Nick Clooney (Peter Marshall), Curtis and Friendly Womack (Swan Silvertones), and Buddy Griffin (Melvin Goins)..
Former major league ballplayer and current ESPN commentator John Kruk and singer Mollie O’Brien will co-host the event.
During the ceremony, there will be videos and letters of congratulations from Paul Simon, Steve Harvey, Al Kooper, and a film director so famous he requested that his name not be released!
General admission tickets are $60. “Preferred Tickets” are $200 each and include preferred seating, admittance to the Meet and Greet, the Governor’s Reception prior to the event and the after-show party.
Tickets are available at Taylor Books and through the West Virginia Music Hall of Fame web site ( and HoF office (304/342-4412). Doors open at 7 p.m. Showtime is 7:30.

Similar articles

News from the Past