Local Stories

Dwana Osborne Murphy has been chosen for January Person of the Month because of her passion to help our community’s youngest and oldest members.  When Dwana is made aware of someone in need in...

Clay County Commission held their meeting on Wednesday, January 13th. The regular action items, minutes of the previous meeting, bills and purchase orders, budget revisions, were approved. Fabian G. Brown was appointed Administrator of...

Clay Board of Education meeting moved pretty swiftly on Monday, January 11, 2016. Firstly, Kevin Isaacs, Business Manager/Treasurer gave a financial update. Clay County Schools have increased their enrollment, which qualifies Clay for a...

Workers from Oklahoma and Virginia visited Charleston today to talk about how so-called “Right to Work” laws hurt economies, lower wages, impair worker safety and eliminate jobs. “We’ve presented countless facts and figures which show...

OSHA fines A and S Tree Service $44K for federal violations OSHA’s Charleston Area Office initiated an inspection of an A and S Tree Service Inc site located at 222 Sweet Grape Run, Walton, West...

Location: Clay County Courthouse, 6:00 pm Tuesday, January 5, 2016 Tuesday, February 2, 2016 Tuesday, March 1, 2016 Tuesday, April 5, 2016 Tuesday, May 3, 2016 Tuesday, June 7, 2016 Tuesday, July 5, 2016 Tuesday, August 2, 2016 ** September 6, 2016 Tuesday, October...

The Elk Conservation District invites all school age children to participate in a national conservation poster contest sponsored by the Nation Association of Conservation Districts.  Anyone child who wishes to participate may do so. ...

This past weekend boxers from the Elk River Boxing Club competed in the Huntington Toughman and the Charleston Rough N Rowdy .  John Spencer and Cole Given competed in Huntington while teammates Justin Miller...

News from the Past