School of Excellence
Big Otter Principal (Anthony Boggs) and staff (Amanda Douglas, Dee Murphy, Linda Jarvis, Sheran Helmick, Megan Boggs), Dr. R. B. Legg, Clay County School Board President, Dr. James Phares, WV State Superintendent of Schools, and Gayle Manchin, WV School Board President.

Big Otter Elementary was presented the WV School of Excellence Award during a special banquet event at the Clay Center. The banner has been displayed within the school and hangs proudly as a reminder of what hard work and dedication can bring.